The Council for European Specialists Medical Assessment

The CESMA is an advisory body of the UEMS created in 2007 with an aim to provide recommendation and advice on the organisation of European examinations for medical specialists at the European level.

It was called in the beginning the "Glasgow group" referring to the first meeting held in Glasgow. It was then decided to adopt the name CESME (Council of European Specialist Medical Examinations). This name was finally changed to CESMA (Council of European Specialist Medical Assessment)

Its main role is to:

  • To promote harmonisation of European Board assessments
  • To provide guidelines to the Boards on the conduct of assessments
  • To encourage take up of Board assessments as a quality mark
  • To offer an alternative to National assessments, where appropriate

The CESMA adopted in Glasgow a declaration setting the basic rules governing European Examinations. The "Glasgow Declaration" was signed by the following UEMS Specialist Sections: Neurosurgery; Nuclear Medicine; Orthopaedics and Traumatology; Paediatric Surgery; Pathology;Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery; Pneumology; Urology and Vascular Surgery

In 1984 the first European Diploma Examination was established. This was the EDA European Diploma of Anaesthesiology. Today more than 30 disciplines have European Examinations:

  1. Allergology and Clinical Immunology
  2. Anesthesiology
  3. Cardiology
  4. Clinical Genetics
  5. Dermatology & Venereology
  6. Otorhinolaryingology
  7. Hand Surgery
  8. Intensive Care
  9. Internal Medicine
  10. Neurology
  11. Neurosurgery
  12. Nuclear Medicine
  13. Ophthalmology
  14. Oromaxillofacial Surgery
  15. Orthopaedics and Traumatology
  16. Pathology
  17. Pediatric Surgery
  18. Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine
  19. Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery
  20. Radiology
  21. Respiratory Medicine
  22. Surgery (General Surgery)
  23. Coloproctology
  24. Endocrine Surgery
  25. Surgical Oncology
  26. Thoracic Surgery
  27. Transplantation
  28. Trauma Surgery
  29. Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery
  30. Vascular Surgery
  31. Angiology
  32. Emergency Medicine
  33. Obstetrics and Gyneacology

While the European Examinations organised under UEMS aegis are not to be considered as formal qualifications, their quality and renown have increased significantly over the past few years. As a result, some Countries recognize European examinations as part of their national examination.

Background information on CESMA and European Examinations:

European assessement - Dr Zeev Goldik - October 2010

UEMS-CESMA Terms of Reference


CESMA Meetings

Documents & presentations from CESMA meetings are available here