Medical Specialities

The UEMS represents more than 50 medical disciplines through various bodies and structures. The most important ones are the 43 Specialist Sections, which represent independently recognised specialties. They have created a European Board as a subgroup, in conjunction with the relevant European Society, with a view to defining European standards of medical education and training. They also contribute to the work of Multidisciplinary Joint Committees (MJC) which address fields of a multidisciplinary nature.

UEMS Specialist Sections and Divisions

Multidisciplinary Joint Committee

Thematic Federations

  • CESMA 
  • Hypertension
  • Legal and Forensic Medicine
  • Vertigo
  • Wound Healing

UEMS Specialist Divisions

  • Angiology (Internal Medicine)
  • Neuroradiology (Radiology)
  • Interventional Radiology (Radiology).
  • General Surgery (Surgery)
  • Emergency Surgery (Surgery)
  • Transplant Coordination (Surgery)
  • Transplant Medicine (Surgery)
  • Transplant Surgery (Surgery)
  • Transplant Immunology (Surgery)
  • Breast Surgery (Surgery)
  • Oesophagogastric Surgery
  • Coloproctology (Surgery)
  • Endocrine Surgery (Surgery)
  • Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Surgery (Surgery)
  • Reproductive Medicine (Gynaecology)
  • Surgical Oncology (Surgery)
  • Trauma Surgery (Surgery)

For more information on Specialty Representation at the European level, see also our Frequently Asked Questions