The UEMS is representing National Assocations of Medical Specialists and operate at the European level to defend and promote the interests of Medical Specialists.

The UEMS is made up of 40 National Member Associations which altogether compose the UEMS Council which is the organisation's General Assembly.

In 1962, the UEMS created Specialist Sections to promote and defend the interest of the different Specialties at the European level. Currently, 43 Specialist  Sections, 15 Multidisciplinary Joint Committees and over 20 Divisions are active in this regard.